Mortals, Take Cover! 12/9/10

Posted on December 9, 2010. Filed under: Reviews |

By Erik Lewis, Lead Blogger

So it’s Thursday, and even though I haven’t done it in a little while, that usually means Mortals, Take Cover!  In case you’ve forgotten, we take the covers from the big two publishers and narrow it down to the top 10.  This week was slim as far as covers go, but I still managed to get 10, so let’s get to this:

10. Batgirl #16

Batgirl’s had a string of good covers recently, and this one is no exception.  Good lines, nice use of shadow and negative space.

9. Justice League: Generation Lost #15

I also always really like Justice League: Generation Lost’s covers as well, and it’s interesting that it shares a thematic element with Batgirl.

8. Wolverine: Father #1

It may just be that I’m excited to read this title, but I think the concept of Wolverine in a fatherly role is very interesting, and I like the cover layout and the little baby claws are just adorable.

7. Thor: The Mighty Avenger #7

Chris Samnee’s art is always a pleasure to look at.  Always.

6. Captain America: The Korvac Saga #1

Whoever this artist is, they really nail Cap.

5. Hellblazer: City of Demons #5

As classic an image of John Constantine as there ever was, with a little bit of Lovecraft and Bond thrown in.

4. Invaders Now! #4

I always love painted covers, and what looks to be Shuma Gorath is a kicker for me, as he was one of my favorite character in the Marvel Universe fighting game I used to play as a kid.

3. DC Universe Holiday special 2010 #1

I love the theme here, goes perfect with the holiday special.

2. Thor #618

I’m pretty sure that’s Odin.  And I love Odin.  Just check the name of the site!

1. Booster Gold #36

Such a touching cover.  I always had a thing for Blue Beetle and Booster Gold, even though Booster represents my lowest rating.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “Mortals, Take Cover! 12/9/10”

RSS Feed for By Odin's Beard Comments RSS Feed

Little baby Daken popping his claws seriously freaks me out. I might have nightmares over that.
That’s quite a nice, classic Captain America image. The shield sure can be tricky to shape correctly, but it looks like the artist nailed it.
Is the Invaders cover supposed to be an homage to the classic JLA vs. Starro cover of The Brave and the Bold? It’s even got the sea-dwelling hero wrapped up. The Invaders win, though, since they’ve got two guys on fire on their team (well, one boy and one android, but still…).

Regarding Daken, I guess one man’s adorable is another man’s nightmarish. I guess the Invaders cover might be like the JLA vs. Starro cover, but I just see Shuma Gorath. And yes. Cap’s shield looks great.


Where's The Comment Form?

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 11 other followers

  • Donate!

  • Follow me on Twitter!

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

