Mortals, Take Cover! 11/11/10

Posted on November 11, 2010. Filed under: Reviews |

By Erik Lewis, Lead Blogger

So, it’s Thursday morning, and that means it’s time for Mortals, Take Cover!  As you know by now, I scan the week’s books and present what I think are the top 10 best covers from the big two publishers in the industry.  Come along and see what I have this week!

10. New Avengers #6

A classic gimmick that’s been done many times before, most notably in the Disassembled arc of Avengers.  Still, well drawn.

9. Avengers Prime #4

I love Thor, but I also love how broken he looks here.  Sorry thunder god…Also, Tony with the club is pretty fantastic.

8. Red Robin #17

Rah-rah-ah-ah-ah! Roma-Roma-ma-ah! Ga-ga-ooh-la-la! Want your bad romance.

7. Chaos War: Thor #1

This Thor fighting a floating head is pretty cool, if you ask me.  I’m loving the Beta Ray Bill lines on his costume.

6. Knight and Squire #2

I know nothing about what’s going on in this cover, but I’ll be damned if it doesn’t interest me.

5. Ant-Man and Wasp #1

First off, I’m very excited for this title.  I love the play on the Ant-Man and Wasp history here.  I love the hijinks the two characters are getting into, and I love the attention to detail on their surroundings.

4. Hellblazer: City of Demons #3

This cover has a decidedly noir look to it, and I love that.  It’s perfect for a Constantine story.

3. Birds of Prey #6

I love how this cover has a fairly realistic feel to it.  Good job, whoever drew this one.

2. I am an Avenger #3

Honestly, I’m not too sure how this one crept to number 2 on the list, but I stand by it.  While it features a nondescript background, the artist has taken steps to make each character their own, and I can respect that.

1. Green Lantern: Emerald Warriors #4

Oh my god, I have never seen Sodam Yat look cooler.  If I wasn’t already buying this comic because I’m a whore for Green Lantern, I would buy it for this alone.  Truth.

And that’s it for this week!  Be sure to check out this week’s Podcast, and all of the other features on the blog, too!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Mortals, Take Cover! 11/11/10”

RSS Feed for By Odin's Beard Comments RSS Feed

Dude, the Red Robin “Bad Romance” comment made my day. Well done!


Where's The Comment Form?

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 11 other followers

  • Donate!

  • Follow me on Twitter!

    • RT @KamalaHarris: Keeping the internet free and open is paramount to ensuring the gatekeepers of the internet can’t tilt the competitive pl… 2 days ago
    • RT @billprady: Without #NetNeutrality your ISP can: 1. Charge you extra to reach certain websites. 2. Slow down streaming services like… 2 days ago

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

