Mortals, Take Cover! 10/7/10

Posted on October 7, 2010. Filed under: Reviews |

By Erik Lewis, Lead Blogger

Just because I’m in New York, and gearing up to take NYCC by storm tomorrow, doesn’t mean I’ve forgotten you folks.  It’s Thursday night(technically), it’s time for another Mortals, Take Cover!  Let’s see what the Big Two have for us today!

10. Ultimate Comics Thor #1

It’s pretty cool, and you all know that I love Thor, but not much happening to get it past number 10.

9. Freedom Fighters #2

I think the Ray is one of the most underrated DC comics characters, and but Phantom Lady looks kind of weird, so this cover only lands at 9.

8. Fantastic Four in…Ataque Del M.O.D.O.K.! # 1

This one is bright, it’s different, and it lets you know at least a small bit of what to expect.  I want to buy this book because of the cover.  Good work!

7. Doom Patrol #15

I gotta say, the action on the cover has me hooked.  I’m not sure who anyone is, but I’m interested.

6. Brightest Day #11

I think the Black Lanterns are an example of a brilliant redesign, hence number 6 on the countdown.

5. Secret Six #26

Not a bad paint job on this cover, not to mention that I love Bane.  Good work here.

4. Iron Man Legacy #7

A very stylized cover, I love the symmetrical borders.  Simple, yet engaging, and very eye-catching.  Brilliant job on this cover.

3. Superman: The Last Family of Krypton #1

The paint job on this cover is very reminiscent of Alex Ross, at least to my eyes, and I love Alex Ross.

2. Spider-Man: Back in Quack #1

Skottie Young has a very distinct style.  In fact, he’s the only artist I recognized based on his work alone.  It’s angular, yet playful, and I really like it.  It would be number one, if not for…

1. Chaos War #1

Honestly, this book makes it to number one just because I’m so excited to read the story.  It is an eye-catcher, certainly, but there’s not much else about it.

And that’s going to do it for Mortals, Take Cover! this week.  If you’re in New York for NYCC, come track me down tomorrow, I’ll be glad to meet all of you!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “Mortals, Take Cover! 10/7/10”

RSS Feed for By Odin's Beard Comments RSS Feed

[…] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Erik Lewis, Erik Lewis. Erik Lewis said: It's still Thursday for a little bit, and that means Mortals, Take Cover! http://wp.me/pN1dy-go […]

yeah,I just thought you might want to know that your blog is messed up when you view it on my iphone. I?m not sure if it has something to do with my phone?s browser or your website? just saying…


Where's The Comment Form?

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 11 other followers

  • Donate!

  • Follow me on Twitter!

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

