Mortals, Take Cover! 9/23/10

Posted on September 23, 2010. Filed under: Reviews |

By Erik Lewis, Lead Blogger

So, it’s Thursday night, all the new TV is done for the evening, and I finally have time to put up a new Mortals, Take Cover!  I had planned to get this ready yesterday, actually, but I had a hard time tracking down the cover images I was looking for until today.  Anyway, let’s get on with it, shall we?

10. Power Girl #16

I have to be honest, I don’t actually like this cover very much.  Seems to be promoting a “women in refrigerators” scenario.  But I do have to say, as an eye catcher, it worked.  So that’s why it makes the list.

9. Astonishing X-Men: Xenogenesis #3

Cheesecake, and her breasts are ridiculously huge, but…well, it worked, what can I say.  Also, it’s very bright, which doesn’t happen in a lot of covers lately.

8. Avengers #5

A very standard Avengers-style cover.  It’s pretty dynamic, and in fact, the only thing that could make it look like a classic cover more is if it had some kind of shocking declaration, like “One of these Avengers will DIE!!!”

7. Justice League: Generation Lost #10

I’m still taken by how simplistic the covers for this book are.  Fantastic art, I’m very pleased every time I see one.  Batman was a surprise to see on this cover, though.

6. Supergirl #56

Perhaps the most fitting use of a Yin Yang I’ve seen in recent comic memory, outside of the Invincible Iron Man Annual.

5. Thor #615

Maybe it’s the glowing, or the lines connecting the circles, but this Thor makes me think of Beta Ray Bill.  And I loves me some Beta Ray Bill.

4. The Flash #5

Much like the Avengers cover, this IS classic.  And they even have the declaration, too!

3. Superman/Batman #76

One of the most striking images from Final Crisis.  Actually, I’d say it’s one of the most striking images from comics in the last few years.  I also think it’s interesting how it resembles the Crisis on Infinite Earths death of Supergirl issue, although I’d wager that was probably intentional.

2. Secret Avengers #5

The tease of Nick Fury’s role in Secret Avengers has me too excited to not think this cover is absolutely awesome.

1. Fantastic Four #583

I think 3 is my chance to really get into Hickman’s Fantastic Four, and I think  this cover is a great statement of the intent of the arc.

And that’s gonna do it for this week’s installment.  Be sure to check back next week!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Mortals, Take Cover! 9/23/10”

RSS Feed for By Odin's Beard Comments RSS Feed

That Astonishing X-Men cover is just as disturbing as it was when it was previewed a few months ago. It’s amazing how many freaky fetishes can be put into one simple cover. I love the Supergirl cover. The concept could be really goofy and cliche, but the end result works very well. I want a Batman Black & White statue based on that Justice League cover. Since I don’t pick up Marvel books, I have no idea what’s going on in Secret Avengers, but the cover certainly makes me curious and interested in picking the issue up. Well done.


Where's The Comment Form?

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 11 other followers

  • Donate!

  • Follow me on Twitter!

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

