Mortals, Take Cover! 8/26/10

Posted on August 26, 2010. Filed under: Reviews |

By Erik Lewis, Lead Blogger

So it’s Thursday, and that means that it’s time for Mortals, Take Cover!  Yesterday new comics were released, let’s see if you can judge a book by it’s cover:

10. Namor: The First Mutant #1

High marks for putting Namor on a cover that makes his ankle wings look less stupid than normal.  Also, high marks for not using the scaled speedo.

9. Avengers #4

Just different enough to make me question what’s inside.  I know they’ve been doing a time travel story, but…old Tony is cool.

8. Green Arrow #3

Not much going on here, but it looks really good.

7. Action Comics #892

A dynamic cover featuring power-suit Luthor, who’s so much like Iron Man it’s not really funny.  I’m sure I’m not the only one to draw the parallel.

6. Superman/Batman #75

Superman and Batman as depicted by Frank Quitely.  Stunning.

5. Shadowland: Moon Knight #1

Shadowland, as a series, has me captivated enough to have me really looking forward to this book, and I’m really loving the grim design on pretty much all the covers.

4. Spider-Girl: The End #1

A new take on a classic Spider-Man cover, plus The End books are usually pretty good.

3. Unknown Soldier #23

I have no clue what this title’s about, and the cover tells me nothing about it, but damn if that’s not some powerful imagery.

2. Justice League: Generation Lost #8

Generation Lost consistently impresses me with it’s covers.  It almost makes me wish I were reading it.

1. Heroic Age: Prince of Power #4

Seriously, you should have seen this coming.  My most anticipated title of the week, right down to the cover.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

