The Asgardian Trade Commission 8/22/10

Posted on August 22, 2010. Filed under: Reviews |

By Erik Lewis, Lead Blogger

So it’s Sunday, and while the Lord may have rested, I’m reviewing comic books instead!  Let’s see what we have up for this week:

Eternals

Marvel Comics, $24.99

Neil Gaiman, John Romita Jr., Nick Lowe

Neil Gaiman has always been a personal favorite of mine.  I was introduced to him in the late 90’s when one of my friends purchased the first few Sandman trades.  After devouring those and the rest of the Sandman books, I set out in search of anything else Gaiman I could find.  I read 1602, I read American Gods and Anansi Boys, I saw Stardust, Mirror Mask, and Coraline, I’ve read all of his collections of short stories, with the story “Other People” in Fragile Things being my favorite short story.  I love Neil Gaiman.  I can remember picking up a few issues of this when it first came out.  I stopped for financial reasons(in fact, I stopped getting all my comics.  A sad point of my life.), but in honesty, I was a little glad to stop getting this one.  Gaiman writes a good Eternals story, but there are some problems.  I have a huge problem with the characters, namely that they’re not really relatable or likable.  Another problem is that the story, while interesting enough to keep me reading until the end, feels like it just stops.  It doesn’t really feel resolved at all, in fact, it feels like a part 1 of a series of books.  To my knowledge, other than an appearance in Incredible Hercules, these characters aren’t visited by other parts of the Marvel Universe.  Now, that’s not to say that this is a bad book.  Not at all.  It’s actually very entertaining and highly readable, with some great moments for a lot of the characters.  If’ you’re a fan of the original Eternals, Neil Gaiman, or John Romita Jr., this book comes recommended.  I did enjoy it, just try to find it on a discount if you can.

Ollie’s Beard 3/5

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

