Mortals, Take Cover! 8/19/10

Posted on August 19, 2010. Filed under: Reviews |

By Erik Lewis, Lead Blogger

Alright, so it’s Thursday, and I’ve diligently gone over the releases for yesterday to bring you my top 10 favorite covers for the week!  Let’s get on with it, shall we?

10. New Avengers #3

As classic a Wolverine pose as there ever was, made all the more awesome by Iron Fist and Doctor Strange in the background.  A solid cover, one that would make me get the series if I wasn’t already.

9. Secret Avengers #4

I pulled this cover mostly because I’m looking forward to reading the issue, but the image does make you question what you’re seeing.

8. Hellblazer #270

An atypically action-oriented cover for Hellblazer, which usually feature Constantine standing around and smoking.  I love how he’s kind of clutching his chest like he needs to catch his breath.

7. Supergirl #55

Bizarrogirl is a concept so simply that I’m surprised I haven’t seen it before.  Still, as simple as it is, it drew a reaction from me.

6. Fables #97

By now you know that I like simple cover designs, and this one is pretty simple, as far as these things go, but nice too.

5. Batman: Streets of Gotham #15

About simple: this cover does it in a more eye-catching way.

4. Avengers and the Infinity Gauntlet #1

I’ll admit, this cover got selected mostly for nostalgia, as the Infinity Gauntlet was what really got me into comics, but I also like the character designs for the ones featured here.

3. Marvel Universe Vs. The Punisher #2

The Punisher with a bow versus a tribal-looking Hulk?  What’s not to love, seriously?

2. Brightest Day #8

Just a stunning drawing of Hawkgirl.  Not really looking forward to the issue much, but love the image.

1. Age of Heroes #4

Classic.  Just classic.  Do I need to say more?

And that’s it for this week.  Did I miss a cover?  Drop me a note in the comments.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 11 other followers

  • Donate!

  • Follow me on Twitter!

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

