Scott Pilgrim Fanart Contest: Results

Posted on August 18, 2010. Filed under: Entertainment, Misc |

By Erik Lewis, Lead Blogger

Well, I had 7 entries for my Scott Pilgrim fanart contest, which was less than I was hoping for, but more than I was expecting, so that’s good I guess.  How this will work: the winner will be posted last, and the 2nd place winner will be right before that.  The rest of the entries are in no particular order.  If you’ve won, I’ll be in touch via email to get your shipping information to send your prize(s), or you can email me.  Now, without anything further, let’s get to the entries!

From Jeff Monk, a friend of By Odin’s Beard, it’s at least good for a laugh.

This is a very good effort, and I applaud the originality with the setting and the hockey elements.  Good work!

I thoroughly enjoy the unique take on this.  Also, bonus points for being the first entry.  What I don’t like is how the “Ramona Flowers” at the bottom is cut off.

This is the submission from Hunter, one of my twitter followers.  This one had me on the fence, because it’s very comic-accurate and was done in watercolor!  If I hadn’t gotten a few more entries, this one was a guaranteed winner.

From Sean, also a friend of By Odin’s Beard.  It’s a great concept, the cast as in a 90’s X-Men cover, but the execution is not quite as good as some of the other entries.

And here’s 2nd place.  I like it because it’s in the style of a Street Fighter IV loading screen.  It just seems to get Scott Pilgrim to me.  Good work!

And now, for first place:

This entry is deserving of first place because the artist gave it his own spin.  It’s a fantastic piece, one that I would be glad to pay for.  The only problem I have with it is the empty space around Scott and Ramona could have been used more constructively, but I can overlook that.  Great work!

Keep your eyes on your emails, folks, or send me your mailing addresses, and I can get your prizes out to you.  A big thanks for everyone who participated and who spread the word about the contest!  I wouldn’t have gotten near the response that I did without you folks!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Scott Pilgrim Fanart Contest: Results”

RSS Feed for By Odin's Beard Comments RSS Feed

Congrats to the winners, very impressive artwork! I love the Street Fighter idea.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

