The Asgardian Trade Commission 7/18/10

Posted on July 18, 2010. Filed under: Reviews |

By Erik Lewis, Lead Blogger

So…it’s Sunday, and you can beat the heat with me, as I review another collected edition of comics!  This week, I’ve stepped a little bit out of my comfort zone with:

Astonishing X-Men: Gifted

Marvel Comics, $14.99

Joss Whedon, John Cassaday

It’s outside of my comfort zone because I don’t really read the X-Men.  I’m sure, if you’ve been reading, you’ve noticed that the only X book to ever grace my buy lists and occasionally get a review is X-Factor, and I’ll be honest, I only read that one because I LOVE Madrox.  I picked this trade up(along with the rest of Whedon’s run) because I’m a big Joss Whedon fan, at least as far as it comes to Firefly and Serenity, Buffy the Vampire Slayer, and Dr. Horrible’s Sing-along Blog, and I’ve heard good things about this run on X-Men, so I figured I’d give it a shot.

Let me say this: just because I don’t read the X-Men very frequently does not mean I am unfamiliar with their lore.  I understand the significance of the conflict between Kitty Pryde and Emma Frost.  I understand the sacrifice Colossus made to save mutantkind from the Legacy virus.  Whedon touches on all of this, making the story about the characters, which is something that I really like.  Making everything character based.  I also like that, unlike some other writers, the book isn’t Wolverine and the X-Men, but rather an ensemble cast working with more complex matters than can be solved by popping claws and hitting things.  This book is largely about the mutant cure.  This seems to be something that the X-Men have to deal with on a fairly regular basis, and a few of the X-Men react to it in…ways that I wouldn’t imagine they would.  Their reactions are reasonable, but…just unexpected.  Largely, though, the book is very good, with lots of cool little moments for X-Men fans and new comic readers alike.

John Cassaday is a truly gifted artist, having no problem with drawing action scenes and sequences that are easy to follow, while at the same time able to draw personal exchanges between characters without frenetic action.  An artist that is able to do both equally well is a great asset to a book like this, a book that is equally dependent on both types of scene.  Overall, whether your a fan of Joss Whedon, The X-Men, or just comics in general, you can’t go wrong with reading this trade.

Volstagg’s Beard 4/5

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

