Mortals, Take Cover! 7-1-10

Posted on July 1, 2010. Filed under: Reviews |

By Erik Lewis, Lead Blogger

Join me as I rate the covers of this week’s comics! There were a lot of good covers to choose from this week, so it was kind of hard.  Let’s get into it!

10. Batman Beyond #1

I like this cover because it seems to me to be modeled after old Batman Beyond promotional images.  It brings to mind the old TV show.

9. Action Comics #890

This is really just a standard image of Luthor, but it really does a good job of getting you intrigued if you read Blackest Night.

8. Deadpool: Wade Wilson’s War #2

Parody can be good on a cover, when done well.  This one’s done well enough to let you know what it’s playing on, but no better than that.

7. Justice League of America #46

There are some interesting things going on in this cover, enough to make me buy the book, so it goes on the list.

6. Captain America #607

A simple enough, but still dynamic cover.  I have yet to see an artist make Bucky Cap look less than awesome.

5. Secret Avengers #2

Ok, I picked this cover because I don’t know who the two people behind Valkyrie are, and I’m interested.

4. Thor #611

The standard Thor cover features Thor with something interesting going on around him, and while this cover is standard for that, it’s the background stuff that catches my eye enough to put this cover at #4.

3. The Flash #3

The only way this cover could impress the death of the Flash on you more is if it were in big block letters.  I have no doubt that he’s not actually going to die, but the cover makes you think he could.

2. Green Lantern #55

Atrocitus?  Hal Jordan?  Lobo?  Sign me up!

1. Invincible Iron Man Annual #1

Simple, yet iconic, it lets you know what to expect in the issue without promising action that might not happen in the issue.  Great cover.

And that’s all I have for this week!  Check out how the content rates on Tuesday!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “Mortals, Take Cover! 7-1-10”

RSS Feed for By Odin's Beard Comments RSS Feed

I think I would’ve ranked Thor at #1 because that is the most EPIC cape I’ve ever seen.

I really like that Flash cover. Outside of some of the wacky Silver Age stories (like Flash gets fat), it seems like too often the cover is some variation on Flash running really fast. Granted, that’s pretty much his big thing, but it’s nice to see some variety. Not that a cover where the Flash is dead is exactly original, but it helps link things to the updated take on Barry’s job as a police scientist.


Where's The Comment Form?

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 11 other followers

  • Donate!

  • Follow me on Twitter!

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

