Mortals, Take Cover! 6/17/10

Posted on June 17, 2010. Filed under: Reviews |

Welcome to a new feature here at By Odin’s Beard, something I’m going to call “Mortals, Take Cover!”  I’ll be taking a look at the covers from the books that came out this week and putting together a top ten list of the best.  You can take a look at my reviews afterward and see if you really can judge a book by its cover!

10. New Avengers #1

Just your standard team book cover, tells you little to nothing of what the story will be about, but it looks nice, so there’s that.

9. New Mutants #14

Again, not too much going on here, but there’s something about the style this is drawn in that makes it notable for me.

8. Joker’s Asylum II – The Mad Hatter #1

Kind of surreal, definitely illustrates the character well, and something I’d be glad to have on my wall!

7. Deadpool: Merc with a Mouth #12

Not a big fan of Deadpool, but they’ve taken an iconic album cover from the 90’s and made it their own.  Good work.

6. Hellblazer #268

Hellblazer covers are almost always interesting, but in the case of this one, it’s just creepy enough to make me really wonder what’s going on.

5. Superman: War of the Supermen Double Feature #1

Just a simple Superman cover, and still it  manages to let you know that stakes are high.

4. Dark Wolverine #87

This one’s got a great classical feel to it, and I really enjoy it.  Although, if pressed, I wouldn’t be able to tell you exactly why.

3. Amazing Spider-Man Presents The Black Cat #1

It’s simple, it’s very minimal, and it tells you what you need to know about the issue: The Black Cat’s in it, and things get stolen.

2. DC Universe Legacies #2

This cover makes a promise for the issue, and it’s one that I know it’s going to have to keep.

1. Lockjaw and the Pet Avengers Unleashed #4

A call back to the classic “One of these characters will die!” or similar covers from all throughout comic book history.  It’s used to great effect here, but I think it’s Ms. Lion’s word bubble that makes it for me.

And that’s what I think are the best covers for this week.  If there’s one I missed, let me know in the comments!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 11 other followers

  • Donate!

  • Follow me on Twitter!

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

