Con Wrapup: Comic Con Philadelphia

Posted on June 14, 2010. Filed under: Misc |

So this past weekend I went to Comic Con Philadelphia, and I thought I’d share some of the sights with you if you were unable to go, or who knows, maybe I saw something you didn’t…

Patrick Stewart was the guest of honor, although it was a bit pricey to get Picard’s autograph at $60 a pop.  Free to snap a picture while he talks to a fan, though.

Bruce Campbell was also quite a draw, with his autograph line completely selling out weeks before the show even started.

The Delorean was present to raise money for Parkinson’s Disease.  A noble cause to donate to, and they let you sit in it if you did!

Another noteworthy car, the Batmobile, was available to sit in, although the proceeds just went to whoever paid for the booth.

Now, let’s see some costumes!

Darth Vader and friends sit around trying out new cell phones.  The bluetooth in Vader’s helmet won’t sync properly with his iPhone, unfortunately.

It’s a little hard to tell from this angle, but this is Quailman, from Doug.  If you don’t remember Doug, then I feel old…

A very well done Boba Fett costume…

Boba Fett and friends!  I think this would make for an excellent weekly show.  The lady Mandalorian can get frustrated with Boba for going out drinking with his Predator friends too often.

The Doctor and Rose fight a Dalek.  There were several other incarnations of the Doctor present as well.

A Na’vi guy, on stilts to get the height he needed.  It’s kinda sad that the only person I saw getting any attention from the press was this guy, who’s from a movie and has nothing to do at all with comics.

The Keymaster.  I wish I had thermal scan so I could see if his outline looked like a creepy dog thing.

Ghostbusters were also very popular at the con, which is cool, because it’s a costume that just about anyone can do.  I talked to this guy for a few minutes and he gave me instructions on how to start on a proton pack.

This was a very well put together Rulk costume.  It’s a good thing I didn’t take this picture, or else I might not have been able to resist pushing him over.

A very good Mal Reynolds.  It was nice to see a Firefly costume.

This Scarlet Spider actually stood and talked to us for a little bit about how he put his costume together.  He said it was very trial and error trying to put the mask together.

A very authentic Spider-Man 2099, which is also a costume not a lot of people would think to go as.  He also thought to put pads in his suit to give himself a more comic book-like shape.

Scarecrow from Batman: Arkham Asylum.  This guy did a great job, but brings something to mind; when cosplaying, be sure to pick a costume that suits your body type.  This guy did great, but I’ve seen girls who shouldn’t be wearing fishnets and guys who really should wear more than just the armor from 300.

Zombies Spider-Man and Dark Phoenix were giving this woman a hard time.  They looked really good.

Poison Ivy, Zatanna, and Red Arrow.  All very good costumes, but I think Red Arrow was a little surprised when I asked him in the shot too.

Blade versus Hit Girl.  That would probably be a pretty good fight, actually.

Batgirl was the proper height, very cute, and had a great costume.  Interestingly enough, I didn’t really see that many women in costume.  Hers was one of the best, though.

This Thor was there last year too.  I think I heard him say that he made his hammer and that it weighed 40 pounds.  He looked very good.

My favorite thing I saw at the convention, mostly because it was for sale and I bought it.  It’ll be hanging on my wall in about 3 weeks.

And that’s all the pictures I have, folks.  It was a lot of fun, but the con suffered from a lack of comic related guests.  I could count the comic professionals that I saw or met on one hand.  The con compensated by having more media guests than I have seen in past years, and I mean no offense to James Marsters or Mike Teevee and the like, but I’d prefer to meet someone who wrote or drew the books I read every week.  If I had to give this con a rating for this year, it would be:

Batroc’s Beard 2/5

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

3 Responses to “Con Wrapup: Comic Con Philadelphia”

RSS Feed for By Odin's Beard Comments RSS Feed

I’m just throwing this out there, but I think Dan might make a better Captain America than Chris Evans will.

Out of all the comic creators (well, artists this year as there WERE NO WRITERS) I met or have met at previous cons, I gotta say that J. G. JONES is the nicest, most pleasant, and all around greatest guy of them all. The dude even remembered me from last year and commented on my beard!

Maybe Chris Evans can play Bucky to Dan’s Cap instead.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

