Comics Released 5/5

Posted on May 14, 2010. Filed under: Reviews |

It’s day 5, and with today, I am officially caught up on reviews!  As always, I pick up my comics at Comics and Paperbacks Plus in Palmyra, PA.  You can find them on Facebook here or here, or you can stop in if you find yourself in Central Pennsylvania. You can also follow me on Twitter, just to see what I think of my books as I read them!  Here’s what I got:

Amazing Spider-Man #630
Brightest Day #1
Batman and Robin #12
The Boys #42
The Great Ten #7
Jonah Hex #55
Red Robin #12
Nemesis: The Impostors #3
Thor and the Warriors Four #2
iZombie #1
Hellboy In Mexico #1
Spider-Man: Fever #2
Electric Ant #2
Astonishing Spider-Man and Wolverine #1

Check out what I thought after the jump!

Thor and the Warriors Four #2

Marvel Comics, $2.99

Alex Zalben, Gurihuru

Ok, I’m going to be honest here.  I only picked up this issue because of the cover art.  Kinda weird, I know, but you gotta admit, that’s like, the best thing you’ve ever seen.  Now, while I picked it up for that reason, I was pleasantly surprised by the story within.  I’m not too familiar with the Power Pack, but they are pretty decent characters for an all ages book, and the story in this book managed to set up a lot of things and make everyone involved look very sympathetic, except for one notable trickster.  The art is simple, yet does not fail to convey the story.  I would highly recommend this book to anyone looking to get a kid interested in comics.

Volstagg’s Beard 4/5




Hellboy in Mexico #1

Dark Horse Comics, $3.50

Mike Mignola, Richard Corben

Hellboy, demons, and Luchadores, what more could you ask for?  A fantastic one-shot that, even with the somewhat bizarre subject material, manages to fit very nicely in the Hellboy universe.  Mignola manages to make very interesting characters who are either completely silent or only speak Spanish, and the story is pretty cool.  It’s a classic story of Hellboy’s past, told when Abe discovers a picture of him in a building near where the story starts.  the story has great pacing and even manages to be a little heartbreaking at the end, but it’s expected.  Richard Corben does a great job with drawing in a Mignola-esque style, while bringing a little something of his own as well, which is always nice when artists in Hellboy are able to do that.

Volstagg’s Beard 4/5




Batman and Robin #12

DC Comics, $2.99

Grant Morrison, Andy Clarke

Grant Morrison works great in this book, bringing good resolution to the Damian storyline, as well as using a great twist to the Oberon Sexton reveal.  I have to admit, I was following Damian’s thoughts on that.  It didn’t even occur to me that he might be someone else.  It was also very cool how Dick was able to thwart Deathstroke when he figured out he was controlling Damian at the beginning.  It was also a nice touch what they did with the floor plans to Wayne Manor, but I’m a little unsure of where they’ll  go from here.  I suppose I’ll find out more in the Return of Bruce Wayne, out this week!

Ollie’s Beard 3/5




Brightest Day #1

DC Comics, $2.99

Geoff Johns, Peter J. Tomasi, Ivan Reis, Pat Gleason, Ardian Syaf, Scott Clark, Joe Prado

I reviewed Brightest Day #0 earlier in the week here, and the only problem that I have with this one is that they both are setup books.  I can understand that they’re not going to jump right in to the action in the 1st issue, but after getting nothing but character introductions in issue #0, I would expect a little more from issue #1.  That said, I did enjoy reading it, and the book had some very cool moments, most notably Aquaman releasing an undead Kraken on a group of pirates.  It’s still going to be very interesting to see where Geoff Johns takes Deadman through the course of this story, so I’m definitely going to stick around.

Ollie’s Beard 3/5




Red Robin #12

DC Comics, $2.99

Chris Yost, Marcus To, Ray McCarthy

If I gave awards here, this book would definitely get the “Book I’m most disappointed I didn’t pick up sooner” award.  Ra’s al Ghul has always been a great Batman villain, and a favorite of mine since I first saw him in the Batman Animated Series.  And Tim Drake proves himself to be worthy of his own title by completely outsmarting him.  That’s not all that makes this book such a great read, though.  The cast of characters is amazing, the art is fantastic, and it’s great to see someone taking Tim Drake where he needs to go.  I think I’m going to try and hunt down the 10 issues of this that I’m missing at the next convention I go to.

Odin’s Beard 5/5




Astonishing Spider-Man and Wolverine #1

Marvel Comics, $3.99

Jason Aaron, Adam Kubert

I have to admit, when I first read the news on this one, I wasn’t completely sold.  Hell, I wasn’t completely sold until about 10 pages in, but this book turned out to be completely worth it.  If this is representative of the Heroic Age, then I say bring it on!  This book is what comics should be: fun, funny, and intriguing.  Aaron does a great job running from a cold open and telling an interesting story, and I can’t wait to see where he takes it next.  Kubert’s art is fantastic and well suited to the story.  In short, I couldn’t ask for a better book.  Go buy this right now, if you haven’t already.

Odin’s Beard 5/5





And that should do it!  It feels nice to be caught up.  I’ll see you guys on Tuesday!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Comics Released 5/5”

RSS Feed for By Odin's Beard Comments RSS Feed

[…] By Odin’s Beard said, “I would highly recommend this book to anyone looking to get a kid interested in […]


Where's The Comment Form?

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 11 other followers

  • Donate!

  • Follow me on Twitter!

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

