Comics Released 4/21/10

Posted on May 12, 2010. Filed under: Reviews |

One week closer to the present, one more week of excellent comics!  As always, I pick up my comics at Comics and Paperbacks Plus in Palmyra, PA.  You can find them on Facebook here or here, or you can stop in if you find yourself in Central Pennsylvania. You can also follow me on Twitter, just to see what I think of my books as I read them!  Here’s what I got the week of 4/21/10:

Amazing Spider-Man #628
Captain America: Who Won’t Wield the Shield #1
Doomwar #3
Savage She-Hulks #2
Firestar #1
Guardians of the Galaxy #25
Hercules: Fall of an Avenger #2
Siege: Spider-Man #1
Sif #1
Torch #7
X-Factor #204
Azrael #7
Green Lantern #53
The Spirit #1
Hellblazer #266

And here’s what I thought!

Siege: Spider-Man #1

Marvel Comics, $2.99

Brian Reed, Marco Santucci, Chris Sotomayor

I have the same problem with this story that I have with almost all of the Siege tie-ins.  Good story, and the art is really something to look at, but this doesn’t need to be a Siege tie-in.  I could understand if Spidey and Ms. Marvel were fighting Venom because of something specifically Asgardian, or if Spidey were trying to protect young Asgardians from being eaten by Venom or something, but it’s honestly just an excuse for Spidey to fight Venom for about the hundredth time, only this time Ms. Marvel thinks he’s cute, too.  Seriously, it’s only $2.99, but you can read Amazing Spider-Man, like RIGHT NOW and get pretty much the same effect if you just imagine Carly Cooper in a Ms. Marvel costume.

Ollie’s Beard 3/5




The Spirit #1

DC Comics, $3.99

Mark Schultz, Moritat, Denny O’Neil, Bill Sienkiewicz

This is my first experience with a spirit solo book, and I have to admit, seeing the movie got me interested in getting my hands on one.  I was impressed.  The Spirit has a very noir feel to him, and I suppose that’s how it should be.  I’m honestly not too sure if he actually has any powers or if he’s just a guy trying to do what’s right in his city, but either way, I really like where this is going.  To top it off, the 2nd feature in the book is absolutely phenomenal.  The only thing I had even a slight problem with was the art in the 2nd feature.  That’s not to say it’s bad, it’s just that the black and white sketchy style makes the action hard to follow sometimes.  This book is well worth the price of admission, though.

Volstagg’s Beard 4/5




Guardians of the Galaxy #25

Marvel Comics, $2.99

Dan Abnett, Andy Lanning, Brad Walker, Andrew Hennessy, Wil Quintana

I started picking up Guardians of the Galaxy as soon as I heard that Thanos was coming back in their pages, around issue 20 or so.  I did so because in the Marvel Universe I have a few favorite villains, and Thanos easily tops the list, and is near the top of the list of favorite characters, too.  That said, I think Abnett and Lanning eityher must have something big planned coming up, or they really missed the boat on what Thanos should be like.  The whole issue is just basically a reunion between the Guardians and the teams members they presumed dead, all taking place while Thanos rampages around, screaming and smashing things.  I was a little disappointed with the “space Hulk” treatment he got, but I’ve enjoyed the series so far, I figure I’ll see where they’re going with it.

Batroc’s Beard 2/5




Green Lantern #53

DC Comics, $2.99

Geoff Johns, Doug Mahnke, Christian Alamy

A lot of stuff going on in this issue, and as you can tell by the cover it’s all related to Brightest Day.  Needless to say, because of that association, all the stuff is pretty much expository, so there are no real conflicts, resolutions, or action really, it’s all just set up.  Don’t get me wrong, Geoff Johns has not once disappointed me with a Green Lantern story, but wow does the guy like to set up a lot of players.  We have Hector Hammond, some mysterious Guardian who’s always in shadow, the Parallax entity, Lex Luthor, and the majority of the characters from the cover.  The art, as is the case with the recent GL books, is fantastic.  The story is not so bad, I just kind of wish that something from the last year or so of Green Lantern would start to make sense.

Ollie’s Beard 3/5




Doomwar #3

Marvel Comics, $3.99

Jonathan Maberry, Scot Eaton, Andy Lanning, Robert Campanella, Jean-Francois Beaulieu

I met Jonathan Maberry a little more than a month ago at a signing he did in Pottsville.  While there, he talked a little bit about the events of this issue, and I was intrigued at how he could get Doom around the purity lock, so I was pretty excited to read this book when it showed up in my buy pile.  He did not disappoint, and as I’ve said when I reviewed the other 2 issues in this series, what I really like about it is the fact that he just GETS Doctor Doom.  I like how in this issue things go back to some semblance of normalcy for the kingdom of Wakanda while it’s now the entire world that’s in jeopardy from Doom.  It’s a very nice and logical escalation of the danger he represents.  Excellent work by Maberry, and if you’re not reading this mini, you’re really missing out.

Odin’s Beard 5/5




Hercules: Fall of an Avenger #2

Marvel Comics, $3.99

Greg Pak, Fred Van Lente, Ariel Olivetti

The second part of this story really takes a different path than the first, but it’s still fantastic.  The way the fight scene plays out is somewhat ridiculous, but it’s all in good fun.  To top it all off, though, the best sound effects I’ve ever seen in comics are used, ‘SSSINNN” and “BLAAASFEME,” showing that Pak and Van Lente bring a great sense of humor even in a book that’s supposed to be about the passing of a long-standing character.  The story, spanning both issues, does a great job of introducing me as a new reader into the Hercules and Olympian parts of the Marvel mythology, as well as setting up the Prince of Power series that will be coming in the next few weeks(which I will be getting.)  All of this is not mentioned that the art on the book is just amazing to look at.  I don’t think I can think of one negative thing to say here, aside from the fact that I wish I had had the foresight to pick up Hercules before it got to where it is now.

Odin’s Beard 5/5





And that’s all for today!  Join us tomorrow, when we’re only about 2 weeks behind!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

