Comics released 4/14

Posted on May 11, 2010. Filed under: Reviews |

Welcome back for day 2 of the Great Review Catch-up!  As always, I pick up my comics at Comics and Paperbacks Plus in Palmyra, PA.  You can find them on Facebook here or here, or you can stop in if you find yourself in Central Pennsylvania. You can also follow me on Twitter, just to see what I think of my books as I read them!  Here’s what I got the week of 4/14/10:

Daredevil #506
Lockjaw and the Pet Avengers Unleashed #2
Siege: Captain America #1
Siege: Loki #1
World War Hulks: Hulked Out Heroes #1
Batman #698
Brightest Day #0
The Flash #1
Green Arrow #32
Atomic Robo and the Revenge of the Vampire Dimension #2
Human Target #3

Check out what I thought after the jump!

Brightest Day #0

DC Comics, $3.99

Geoff Johns, Peter J. Tomasi, Fernando Pasarin

Something’s still going down in the DC Universe.  You thought it was over with Blackest Night #8, well you were incorrect.  This book is a good introduction to the next part of the story, doing really well with introducing everyone who was brought back to life in the events of BN #8.  Most interesting, though, is the use of Dead Man, Boston Brand, who’s superpower was that he was dead and could possess people to do what he needed to do.  I think that’s going to be the most interesting part of the story, and while I like Hawkman and Hawkgirl, I’m interest in what Martian Manhunter is up to on Mars, Jade coming back to life has been something I’ve wanted to see for a while, and Maxwell Lord’s resurrection certainly has some interesting ramifications, the man with the red costume and the white ring will drive the story.  As always, the art is fantastic, and the book is really a joy to read.  Don’t miss this one.

Volstagg’s Beard 4/5




Siege: Captain America #1

Marvel Comics, $3.99

Christos N. Gage, Federico Dallocchio, Giulia Brusco, Rob Schwager

What I like about Siege is that it’s pretty self-contained.  It tells a good story, and it’s just short enough that the time it has has to be managed effectively.  I do enjoy some of these Siege one-shots as I’m always a fan of a one-shot, but the problem with this book is that the events that take place in it seem less essential to the Siege story line, and more fitting as something that could be done in the Captain America book itself.  Now don’t get me wrong, Gage does a great job characterizing both Steve Rogers and Bucky, and the art isn’t half bad either, it just feels a bit unnecessary as a Siege title.  It feels more like an attempt to cash in on the Siege tie-in than to tell a story that’s essential to the overall narrative.  That said, I did enjoy this, and if you’re a Captain America fan by all means, pick it up.  If you’re not and just want to get the full story on Siege, don’t bother.

Ollie’s Beard 3/5




Siege: Loki #1

Marvel Comics, $3.99

Kieron Gillen, Jamie McKelvie, Nathan Fairbairn

On the other side of the Siege tie-in coin, we have Siege: Loki.  Surprisingly, between the Dark Avengers, Thor, and Siege titles, we’ve seen surprisingly little from Loki, the driving force behind the entire thing.  This book remedies that, and it’s welcome.  Gillen strives to show use that Loki has actual motivation behind starting the siege of Asgard, ones that go beyond his usual penchant for creating mischief, or his overwhelming desire to make life difficult for his half brother.  It’s interesting to see a character like Loki working with some of the bigger players in both the Asgardian set and in the overall Marvel Universe, and I’m always a fan of injecting more Norse mythology into things, and to top it all off, the issue is beautifully illustrated and colored.  A must read if you’re looking for a reason behind all the action.

Volstagg’s Beard 4/5




The Fall of Green Arrow #32

DC Comics, $2.99

J.T. Krul, Federico Dallocchio

More from the Rise and Fall, which, if you’ve read my other reviews or follow me on Twitter, you know I’m not really liking too much, especially after the cliffhanger at the end of the last issue.  Luckily, this issue sees Ollie come to his senses and accept justice for what he’s done, which I do think was the right step for the character to take.  I really enjoyed the courtroom scene, where it shows all of Ollie’s Justice League pals outside of their costumes, and where Ollie messes with Clark a little bit.  I have to say, though, the whole star-shaped forest in Star City and a judge imposing a banishment on Ollie seem a little forced and far-fetched.  The art in this issue, like I said with Siege: Captain America, isn’t half bad, but kind of leaves me wanting a little more.  A step in the right direction, but we’re still not quite there.

Ollie’s Beard 3/5




The Unwritten #12

DC/Vertigo, $2.99

Mike Cary, Peter Gross, Kurt Huggins, Zelda Devon

A welcome departure for anyone suffering from event fatigue, as this issue is about as far as you can get from superheroics in titles like Siege or Brightest Day, and even far removed from the normal events of The Unwritten itself!  This issue reminds me of one of my favorite issues of Hellblazer, in that it draws from a world similar to Winnie the Pooh, although only if Winnie the Pooh featured a character aware of his existence in a children’s story who worked hard to try and remove himself from that story.  The ending is dramatically different from what one might expect from a children’s story too, but just like the Kipling tale from earlier in the run, this book is a welcome piece of The Unwritten, and I am pretty excited to see what other kinds of diversions this creative team can come up with.

Odin’s Beard 5/5




Atomic Robo: The Revenge of the Vampire Dimension #2

Red 5 Comics, $3.5

Brian Clevinger, Scott Wegener, Ronda Pattison, Jeff Powell

I bet by now you’re saying “Ok, we get it, you like Atomic Robo, enough!” but I must say NEVER!  Robo is one of my favorite comics being published today and possibly one of my favorites of all time, and it’s for a reason.  The writing is clever, witty, and draws from several inspirations.  The issues are one of the only comics I’ve read that actually can make me laugh out loud, quite literally.  The art is stellar, and there’s never any difficulty following the action or the story.  For those reasons I will never stop promoting the success of this book at every opportunity I get.  Comics should be good!  This issue does not fail to impress.  Go get this now, if you haven’t read it already.

Odin’s Beard 5/5





And that’s it for today!  Come back tomorrow, when I will get one week closer to the present!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

3 Responses to “Comics released 4/14”

RSS Feed for By Odin's Beard Comments RSS Feed

Atomic Robo is just good, fun comics. It’s always nice and refreshing after all of the grim and gritty stuff going on in the comics of the big two.
I agree that Ollie getting banished is pretty out there and is just done to set him up in his own recently created version of Sherwood Forest, but I like the idea of the giant star-shaped central park. It helps start to give the city some personality and I hope they don’t stop with some trees. When they want to, the folks at DC are capable of making the cities of the DCU into real characters, like Opal City and of course Gotham.
Deadman is by far my favorite character in Brightest Day, which is strange since he hasn’t gotten to do anything yet. I think having him come back from the dead is a more interesting story than the others. Also, Aquaman releasing the undead Kraken was fun.

If where they’re going with Green Arrow is to try and make Star City have it’s own unique personality like Gotham or Opal, I think that would be pretty cool, but honestly, it doesn’t seem to me like DC has any concrete plans for Green Arrow, aside from literally turning him into Robin Hood, as if he wasn’t Robin Hood enough already.
As far as Brightest Day, Deadman is definitely the strongest character, and I think it’s only because he has yet to realize what he’s SUPPOSED to do. I think once he figures that out, the book is going to get really good. With Aquaman and the Kraken, I haven’t gotten to reviewing that yet, but come back Friday…

Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

Thumbs up, and keep it going!

Cheers
Christian,Earn Free Vouchers / Cash


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

