Reviews 4/6/10

Posted on April 6, 2010. Filed under: Reviews |

Another week, another stack of comics!  As always, I pick up my comics at Comics and Paperbacks Plus in Palmyra, PA.  You can find them on Facebook here or here, or you can stop in if you find yourself in Central Pennsylvania. You can also follow me on Twitter, just to see what I think of my books as I read them!  Here’s what I got:

Blackest Night #8
Amazing Spider-Man #627
Cloak and Dagger #1
Prelude to Deadpool Corps #5
Fantastic Four #577
She-Hulk: Sensational #1
Outsiders #28
Gotham City Sirens #10

And here’s what I thought

Outsiders #28

DC Comics, $2.99

Dan Didio, Philip Tan, Jonathan Glapion

I gotta say, I almost picked up this title when it first came back a little while ago, just on the strength on Owlman.  I was very interested to find out more about that character in his Earth-1 persona.  I couldn’t tell you why I didn’t pick it up then, it could have been money issues, it could have been timing, I’m not sure, but picking up this issue was an alright decision.  Honestly, I have no real ties to any of the characters, and I certainly don’t know what’s going on in the book, but it just seems to me like a lot of nothing happens in this issue.  The nothing that happens looks fantastic though, so respect to the art part of the book.  Maybe it’ll take a couple issues to draw me in, but I was fairly unimpressed with my first outing with this book, with the exception of the Eradicator.  As my favorite of the Supermen from “Rise of the Supermen,” it was nice to see that he’s still around in continuity.

Ollie’s beard 3/5




Justice Society of America #37

DC Comics, $2.99

Bill Willingham, Jesus Merino, Jesse Delperdang

A continuation of the story that’s had threads in Justice Society of America since Geoff Johns left the book, it paints a picture of a dystopian future run by (surprise, surprise) the Fourth Reich.  The “present” parts detail the battle that began an issue or two ago at the JSA’s new headquarters and how the Fourth Reich managed to be beaten but still win.  Now for the dystopian future parts, I’m as interested in that kind of thing as the next guy, but something about putting people like Batman and Superman in a death camp seems A) a little over the top, and B) a little ridiculous, knowing what they(and the rest of the League, for that matter) have overcome in the past.  I’ll be interested to see how this plays out and how they’re able to fix the “past,” but this book might be on it’s last legs for me.

Batroc’s Beard 2/5




She-Hulk Sensational #1

Marvel Comics, $4.99

Peter David, Jonboy Meyers, Jim Charalampidis, Brian Reed, Iban Coello, Andrew Hennessy, Matt Milla

It’s been a little while since we heard anything from She-Hulk, so this book came with a pretty heartfelt welcome from me.  It’s another of those extra-sized anniversary books, so it’s really only worth it if you’re a She-Hulk fan already, which I would guess is something you could call me.  This book features two new stories and one reprint.  The first story deals with She-Hulk’s coming to terms with being around for 30 years.  She has some funny bits of dialogue with various characters, and the book even features a cameo from her creator(Stan Lee), and one of her most influential writers(Dan Slott), which I thought was pretty cool.  The story over all was a little cliche, but well done.  The second story was pretty standard superhero fair, nothing really lost or gained by reading.  The art throughout the book was pretty good, so all in all, a decent value for your money.

Volstagg’s Beard 4/5




Amazing Spider-Man #627

Marvel Comics, $2.99

Roger Stern, Lee Weeks, Dean White

A play on a (much) earlier Spider-Man story by Stern, “Nothing can stop the Juggernaut,” this book features a story called “Something can stop the Juggernaut.”  As I read this book, I realized that it felt very much like an old Spider-Man story, steeped in current continuity, which is to say that it felt right.  Spider-Man pretty much goes about his daily life while trying to figure out what cause the Juggernaut to rocket through the sky and crash land in central park.  All throughout the story there are hints as to what happened, but not really enough to piece it all together, until the reveal on the last page, which I have to admit, I was not expecting.  It was nice to see the character, and like last week’s X-Factor, it’s a character I’ve been wondering about lately.  As for the art, it’s well drawn and well colored, but I don’t really have much to say about it other than that.  This would be a good place, I suppose, to jump into Spider-Man if you haven’t been reading this title.

Ollie’s Beard 3/5




Cloak and Dagger #1

Marvel Comics, $3.99

Stuart Moore, Mark Brooks

I’m a kid of the 90’s.  I grew up with Spider-Man, in fact my first comic book(which I still have) was Amazing Spider-Man #375, a double-sized, hologram covered issue featuring Venom.  The reason why I picked up this issue goes pretty much back to that issue.  Not long after ASM #375, Maximum Carnage started, in which Cloak and Dagger played a large part.  I’ve had a thing for the two of them since then, and was pretty much heartbroken to see them working with Norman Osborne during Dark Reign.  This issue, which is pretty big, deals with the aftermath of that, and has them working with the X-Men and trying to come to terms with their powers, even though they’re not mutants.  The ending is kind of bittersweet, and through the story, I got to know Tyrone Johnson and Tandy Bowen better.  The art style I wasn’t crazy about, but for a story that good, I could put up with it.

Volstagg’s Beard 4/5




Blackest Night #8

DC Comics, $3.99

Geoff Johns, Ivan Reis, Oclair Albert, Joe Prado

Here’s the big one.  The one I was waiting aaaaallll week for.  A special thanks goes out to the Internet in general and the people I follow on Twitter in specific for not spoiling this one for me before I got to it.  This issue is packed full of surprises, and some not so surprising things.  There are some great moments on display, and the only thing I’m even moderately disappointed in is the fact that it leads directly into Brightest Day.  It’s only a little disappointing, though, and that’s only because of event fatigue.  By and large, I want to see where the story goes, and this book promises that continuation, and even hints at the redemption of some characters.  The art, as always, is superb.  Do not miss this issue!

Odin’s Beard 5/5





And that’ll do it for this week.  As always, feel free to leave me a comment, and until next week!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

3 Responses to “Reviews 4/6/10”

RSS Feed for By Odin's Beard Comments RSS Feed

I’m sad that JSA got the lowest rating (2 beards), but also gladdened by my decision to drop that book a little while back.

Will you be picking up S.H.I.E.L.D. #1 by Jonathan Hickman this week? I know I will!

Yeah, it got the lowest this week. It may pick up though. Willingham’s usually pretty good about that.

And yes, I will be picking up SHIELD, as long as Ralph has it for me!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

