Reviews 3/30/10

Posted on March 30, 2010. Filed under: Reviews |

It’s Tuesday, you know what that means: reviews!  As always, I pick up my comics at Comics and Paperbacks Plus in Palmyra, PA.  You can find them on Facebook here or here, or you can stop in if you find yourself in Central Pennsylvania. You can also follow me on Twitter, just to see what I think of my books as I read them!  Here’s what I got:

Green Lantern #52
Justice League: The Rise of Arsenal #1
Amazing Spider-Man #626
Captain America #604
Red Hulk #3
Nemesis #1
New Avengers #63
Prelude to Deadpool Corps #4
Secret Warriors #14
Marvels Project #7
Thor #608
X-Factor #203
Hellblazer #265

And here’s what I thought!

Hellblazer #265

DC/Vertigo, $2.99

Peter Milligan, Simon Bisley

I’m a big fan of Constantine.  I’ve stated this before.  The last storyline, India, I felt could have ended a little early, but this one, as you can see from the cover, is part 1 of 2.  For something that promises to be so short, it sure does get off to a nice start, with a pretty promising last page reveal.  Bisley’s interiors are very good and fitting to John Constantine’s world, and the cover is striking on it’s own.  One minor complaint, though: I know Constantine is supposed to be everything to England’s underworld in his universe, and I know his story kind of revolves around bad things happening to everyone he comes in contact with, but seriously, does he have to get involved in just about every political struggle in the country?  Other than that, fantastic work.

Ollie’s Beard 3/5

Red Hulk #3

Marvel Comics, $3.99

Jeff Parker, Carlos Rodriguez

Less about Red Hulk than it is about A-Bomb(a name I really don’t care for in continuity, by the way), but this title manages to be more entertaining than the entirety of the Hulk series, at least since it started being solely about Red Hulk.  There’s some great character development in here for Rick Jones, Banner continues to show us how awesome he is, and Red Hulk continues to…be Red Hulk.  As with Hellblazer, the interiors are striking, with interesting layouts, but I’d have to say that one of my favorite things about this book is how it reminds us of Rick Jones’ long history at Marvel, going from the Hulk incident, to helping to bring the Avengers together, it even remembers his time in the Captain Marvel title, which I thought was highly under-rated.

Volstagg’s Beard 4/5

New Avengers #63

Marvel Comics, $3.99

Brian Michael Bendis, Mike McKone, Dave McCaig

Siege is a great event, it’s everything an event should short(4 issues), full of all the right action sequences, and because of it’s brevity, fairly fast paced.  All that said, one thing that it misses is the character of some of the longer event titles.  This issue takes care of that problem nicely.  It’s really nice to see all the action from the main Siege title from another perspective, and it’s nice to see how it affects the smaller players.  In this issue we see how things were going for the couples that are in the New Avengers, Luke Cage and Jessica Jones, as well as Clint Barton and Bobbi Morse.  I like the small moments, like Cage trying to rescue the Asgardian child, and Bobbi and Clint taking out Lady Octopus.  The art is good and it’s nice to see a different art style on the happenings of Siege, but that’s not to say that Siege is a book that doesn’t look good, this one is just different.

Ollie’s Beard 3/5

Justice League: The Rise of Arsenal #1

DC Comics, $3.99

J.T. Krul, Geraldo Borges, Marlo Alquiza

Coming to you straight out of the pages of Justice League: Cry For Justice!  Not that that’s a good thing.  Look, I understand Roy has been through a lot, and to it’s credit this book makes me care about that, but I would rather that Cry For Justice did not get all the spin-offs and event attention that it’s getting, especially not when it messes with my archers.  The Arrow Family has been one of my favorites in comics since I started reading them, so messing with Roy is not something I like to see done.  I’ll be interested to see where this one goes, and the idea that someone like Roy can continue being a hero after all that he’s been through(and down an arm, no less) is a nice concept to me.  For now, though, it’s only OK.

Ollie’s Beard 3/5

X-Factor #203

Marvel Comics, $2.99

Peter David, Valentine De Landro, Pat Davidson, Jeromy Cox

X-Factor since #200 has really restored my faith in the title.  In fact, where I was growing tired with Peter David’s approach to the title, I’m now really liking his direction.  This issue, as evidenced by the cover, makes great use of M and Strong Guy.  Strong Guy takes up most of the issue, which to me is not a problem, since I really like him, except his name.  There are some great bits in this book, the least of which is not the art, which looks amazing.  I really like the call back to M’s Penance days, and the character revealed on the last page is someone I feel is underused in the Marvel Universe, and someone I genuinely like.  If the work keeps going like this, I’ll be sure to continue getting this book.

Volstagg’s Beard 4/5

Millar & McNiven’s Nemesis #1

Marvel/Icon, $2.99

Mark Millar, Steve McNiven

Well, here’s the first issue of the book Mark Millar described as “What if Batman were the Joker.”  To be honest, I can see the comparison, but that doesn’t mean that I like this book.  Don’t get me wrong, for the script, the art is pretty good, although it’s sometimes over the top.  The story, though.  Ugh.  It just seems like Millar is going for shock value now, since the hit that was Kick-Ass.  That’s another thing, the book attempts to capitalize on the breakout success of Kick-Ass by name dropping it on the cover, but all I can say is that it looks like they forgot to put the word “the” in between “like” and “$#!T.”  I’m willing to give it the benefit of the doubt for right now, since it’s only issue 1, so I’ll see where it’s going for the next few issues, but I don’t really think I’m going to like it.

Batroc’s Beard, 2/5

And that’ll do it for now!  As always, if you have something you want to say or a title you feel I should be reading, you can drop me a line in the comments.  And again, I want to make sure you know that if you are in the Ephrata area, you can come see me and discuss Marvels(the graphic novel) at Comics and Paperbacks Plus with me on April 10th around 1:30, where you can also buy the same graphic novel at a discount up until the day of the event!  As always, thanks for reading, and I’ll see you all next week!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 11 other followers

  • Donate!

  • Follow me on Twitter!

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

