Comics Reviews 3/23/10

Posted on March 23, 2010. Filed under: Reviews |

Seems I’m a little late today.  Life happens, I guess, sorry for the delay, everyone.  For now, though, let’s get on with the reviews!  As always, I pick up my comics at Comics and Paperbacks Plus in Palmyra, PA.  You can find them on Facebook here or here, or you can stop in if you find yourself in Central Pennsylvania. You can also follow me on Twitter, just to see what I think of my books as I read them!  Here’s what I got:

Green Arrow #31
Azrael #6
Batman #697
Amazing Spider-Man #625
Dark Avengers #15
Doomwar #2
Guardians of the Galaxy #24
Hercules: Fall of an Avenger #1
Hulk #21
Incredible Hulk #608
Prelude to Deadpool Corps #3
Siege #3
Siege: Embedded #3
The Torch #6

So, what did I think?  You’re in luck, I’m gonna tell you!

Batman #697

DC Comics, $2.99

Tony Daniel, Sandu Florea

It’s been some time since I got the core Batman title, but I’ve always enjoyed it.  I decided to get this one for the build up to the 700th issue, and while it may not have been ideal, as this is seemingly the end of an arc, it was still fun.  The reveal of Black Mask’s (current) identity was pretty cool, and answered some questions I had about some things I read earlier in the year, and I was able to read between the lines to get the idea of what had happened in the last few issues.  There are other reveals other than just Black Mask that had me interested, though.  It’s interesting to see Dick performing in the Batman role, and this book has a different feel from the Batman and Robin books, but not in a bad way.  The art is also very different, but it’s not bad, and it’s always nice to see other artist’s take on the character.  All told, with it’s good story, good art, and low price, you can’t miss if you add this book to your pull list.

Ollie’s Beard 3/5




Guardians of the Galaxy #24

Marvel Comics, $2.99

Dan Abnett, Andy Lanning, Wes Craig, Serge Lapointe, Nathan Fairbairn

There’s a lot that happens in this issue, but unfortunately all that amounts to pretty much nothing.  That’s not a bad thing, though.  The nothing that happens in this issue is a lot of entertaining nothing.  Only having started reading this title around issue 20, it was nice to get the insight into the way the characters fight, and seeing them handle themselves so effectively was nice.  Also, on the side of things that wasn’t just fighting there were some cool moments.  The art manages to make all the characters interesting and dynamic, but the high point of this issue for me is the last page reveal, which gets me excited enough to guarantee the next issue will become a part of my collection.

Ollie’s Beard 3/5




Hercules: Fall of an Avenger #1

Marvel Comics, $3.99

Greg Pak, Fred Van Lente, Ariel Olivetti

I’ve been hearing an awful lot of good things about the Incredible Hercules series, things which had me kicking myself for not picking it up when it started a few years back.  It’s a shame that I finally decided I could afford to start getting it just as the character was nearing the end of his run in the Marvel Universe.  This issue, though, was a fantastic send off for the character, taking a lot of time for heartfelt goodbyes from influential Marvel characters, and plenty of time to make great jokes, some of which are at the readers expense.  And that’s just the story, the art is fantastic as well!  Just when I thought it couldn’t get any better, I turn the page to the Agents of Atlas(another series I’ve been hearing great things about) backup story which is just as brilliantly written and beautifully illustrated as the main tale.  This is one of the best comics I’ve read in quite some time, miniseries, one-shot, or ongoing title, bar none.  Pick this book up now, if you haven’t already!

Odin’s Beard 5/5




Siege #3

Marvel Comics, $3.99

Brian Michael Bendis, Olivier Coipel, Mark Morales, Laura Martin

Siege marches towards it’s conclusion, and I gotta say, I expected what happened in this issue to happen in issue 4.  It’s always nice when a writer can keep you guessing, as long as it’s in a good way.  This issue has phenomenal art, on par with the rest of the series, and each page feels epic because of it.  There are also some great confrontations, and the action in the book seems to merge wonderfully with the dialogue, to form something very fun to read.  More than that, though, it makes the wait to see this happen, reading through a lot of Dark Reign tie-ins, and seeing Norman Osborn menace the entire Marvel Universe, worth it.  I can’t wait to see how this one wraps up, and you should be reading it too!

Volstagg’s Beard 4/5




The Fall of Green Arrow #31

DC Comics, $2.99

J.T. Krul, Federico Dallocchio

I’ve said a lot of good things about the comics I’ve read this week, but I’m sad to say that I don’t have very much good to say about this particular book.  I guess the one good thing I have to say is that the art looks pretty good, and the book flows well because of it.  What I don’t like, however, is how Oliver Queen’s character is progressing.  Seeing as how this is pretty much a direct tie-in to the Cry For Justice miniseries, a story where you could replace every speech balloon with “grumble grumble grumble JUSTICE grumble grumble,” it’s not very surprising.  I can understand where the character might go this way, as they do a pretty good job showing he’s a hunter and not a superhero, I guess, but I don’t agree with it.  I could almost let them changing Ollie into this slide, but they went ahead and put Speedy in the same action and also kind of twisted Connor.  I’ll see where it goes, I guess, but I’m not really looking forward to it.

Batroc’s Beard 2/5




Doomwar #2

Marvel Comics, $3.99

Jonathan Maberry, Scot Eaton, Andy Lanning, Jean-Francois Beaulieu

Doomwar is a pretty surprising book.  I wasn’t too sure of it at first, but as you saw last month I was pleased with the first issue.  The book is just as good this time around, due in large part to the way Maberry writes Doom.  Seriously, I’ve never read Doom as a more brilliant character, and it’s fantastic to see him go up against someone as brilliant as T’Challa.  The book features some good twists and turns, and great sequences with the other characters as well, including a great speech from the Dora Milaje, and the X-Men showing their token idealism, even in what is, understandably, considered a war.  Honestly, this book makes me want to check out Maberry’s prose work.  The art only serves to better enhance the story, but there’s not much more to say beyond that, unfortunately.

Volstagg’s Beard 4/5



That’s really all I have to say for this week.  If you have something you want to say or a title you feel I should be reading, you can drop me a line in the comments.  Also, I want to mention that if you are in the Ephrata area, you can come see me and discuss Marvels(the graphic novel) at Comics and Paperbacks Plus with me on April 10th around 1:30, where you can also buy the same graphic novel at a discount up until the day of the event!  As always, thanks for reading, and I’ll see you all next week!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Comics Reviews 3/23/10”

RSS Feed for By Odin's Beard Comments RSS Feed

Glad that you’re enjoying DoomWar. Issue #3 will explain how Doom passed T’Challa’s unbeatable ‘Purity’ test. That should open a few eyes. Thanks for a thoughtful and intelligent review.


Where's The Comment Form?

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 11 other followers

  • Donate!

  • Follow me on Twitter!

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

