Last Week’s Comics 3/9/10

Posted on March 9, 2010. Filed under: Reviews |

And now, to review LAST WEEK’s comics!  As always, I pick up my comics at Comics and Paperbacks Plus in Palmyra, PA.  You can find them on Facebook here or here, or you can stop in if you find yourself in Central Pennsylvania. You can also follow me on Twitter, just to see what I think of my books as I read them!  Here’s what I got:

Savage She-Hulks #1
Prelude to the Deadpool Corps #1
Amazing Spider-Man #623
The Great Ten #5
Green Hornet #1
Jonah Hex #53
New Ultimates #1
Spider-Man Noir: Eyes Without a Face #4
First Wave #1
Nemesis: The impostors #1
The Boys #40
Girl Comics #1

What did I think?  Find out after the jump!

Prelude to Deadpool Corps #1

Marvel Comics, $3.99

Victor Gischler, Rob Liefeld

There’s certainly no shortage of Deadpool in Marvel recently.  Between something like 21 variant cover appearances, several ongoing monthly titles, miniseries, and guest appearances, it’s hard to pick up a Marvel book without seeing the Merc with a Mouth somewhere.  It was out of curiosity that I picked up this title, mostly piqued by the lineup on the cover.  This story features the 616 Deadpool recruiting the prominently featured Lady Deadpool in a story that’s mildly humorous and mostly entertaining.  Rob Liefeld adds art to the issue, and let me just say that I do not like Rob Liefeld.  I read through the first few pages without really noticing, until I got to a page that showed Captain America with one of Liefeld’s favorite cybernetic arms and a distinctly angular face.  It was then that I flipped back to the cover to notice the 2nd name billed.  While I wasn’t thrilled by the art, the story held my interest, but I would suggest waiting for this one to come out in trade unless you’re Deadpool’s biggest fan.

Batroc’s Beard 2/5




Jonah Hex #53

DC Comics, $2.99

Justin Gray, Jimmy Palmiotti, Billy Tucci

Jonah Hex is very interesting to me, especially in a book published by DC, and not shifted into either the Wildstorm or Vertigo imprints.  He kind of feels like a wild west version of Frank Castle, although what he does, he does for money, so maybe the similarities are less than I’m thinking.  I think my favorite part of this particular issue is the art, and how seamless it is.  Tucci has no problem taking a somewhat minimalist approach, and still conveying everything that needs to come through for the story.  As for the story, Gray and Palmiotti(apologies to Palmiotti for confusing him with the artist yesterday) manage to take something that could be very simple and manageable and twist it to something with just the right amount of complexity.  I think I’m going to add this to my pull list.

Ollie’s Beard 3/5




Green Hornet #1

Dynamite Entertainment, $3.99

Kevin Smith, Jonathan Lau

This book is adapted from Kevin Smith’s lost screenplay, so it’s nice to see how Kevin’s Green Hornet movie would have gone.  The story is good, at least to start out with, and only features a few moments that pull you out of the story.  I’m speaking specifically of a few instances where the dialogue is unapologetically Kevin Smith, such as Green Hornet referring to his hat a “pimp,” or making a joke while shooting someone in the head.  Admittedly, I don’t know much about the Green Hornet, but what I do know is handled nicely in the issue.  The art is very good, and even at times spectacular.  I would recommend this book to any Kevin Smith fans.

Ollie’s Beard 3/5




New Ultimates #1

Marvel Comics, 3.99

Jeph Loeb, Frank Cho

By this point, it’s well documented that I’m not really a big fan of Jeph Loeb’s work on Hulk.  But, even with that knowledge going into reading this one, I found myself enjoying it by the end.  It may just be that the characters are different, it may be that I’m fresh off of a turn with the Ultimate version of Tony Stark, or it may be that the book is just better, but the problems I have with the Hulk are not present here.  Sure, the characters may act a little differently than I would expect, but that could be chalked up to the fact that this is an Ultimate book, and ultimately(I’m sorry) dependent on the earlier Ultimate stories.  Loeb manages to juggle a large cast of characters nicely, and Cho does a good job of making all the characters look as they should, and handling the action very well.  One thing that stuck me as strange was Mjolnir’s appearance, as I’m not sure when Mjolnir in the Ultimate universe changed from the hammer-and-axe hybrid that it’s been in previous stories to the more classic design, but it’s something that I can let pass.

Volstagg’s Beard 4/5




First Wave #1

DC Comics, $3.99

Brian Azzarello, Rags Morales

There’s been a lot said, leading up to the release of this book.  I tend to take hype with a grain of salt and judge for myself, though.  This book was well worth all the hype it received, though.  Strong characterization on the part of Doc Savage and his team, and excellent work with the Spirit make this one worth every penny that you should be spending on it.  The slick interiors make you want to read more, until there’s no more to read, and the dialogue flows smoothly from cover to cover.  There are some really cool moments that I won’t spoil here, but let’s just say that the Spirit makes this book, and I’d like to see some more of him in modern comics.  Those of you looking forward to seeing Batman will have to wait until the next issue, unfortunately, but I have a feeling it will be worth the wait.

Odin’s Beard 5/5




Girl Comics #1

Marvel Comics, $4.99

Colleen Coover, Amanda Conner, Laura Martin, G. Willow Wilson, Ming Doyle, Trina Robbins, Stephanie Buscema, Valerie D’Orazio, Lucy Knisley, Robin Furth, Agnes Garbowska, Devin Grayson, Emma Rios

While DC’s hype machine was working on First Wave, Marvel cranked up it’s hype machine for Girl Comics.  Naturally, I took notice, and was intrigued by the premise, an anthology of Women-centric stories by prominent(or not so prominent) female creators.  This book is up there with the other anthologies I’ve read lately, and that’s saying something, between the indie stories of Strange Tales, and the all-around fun of Tails of the Pet Avengers, this book had some tough competition.  It shines in just about all aspects, and even takes the pages to showcase women who have been influential in Marvel’s history.  If this book isn’t able to boost Marvel’s sales to female readers, nothing will, and I’m very interested to see the next two issues to see what they’ll have in them.

Volstagg’s Beard 4/5



Well, that’s it for this week!  See you here next week with more comics reviews!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

