Catching up on reviews 3/7

Posted on March 7, 2010. Filed under: Reviews |

Well well, looks like I’m finally about to catch up on reviews!  I’m not big on excuses, but the reason I’ve been about 2 weeks behind is that when I first started this blog, I was only able to go to the comic store about once every two weeks, but in the past few months, I’ve been able to up that to once a week.  From here on out, the issues may be a few days old when I review them, but they shouldn’t be longer than that.  As always, I pick up my comics at Comics and Paperbacks Plus in Palmyra, PA.  You can find them on Facebook here or here, or you can stop in if you find yourself in Central Pennsylvania. You can also follow me on Twitter, just to see what I think of my books as I read them!  Here’s what I got:

New Avengers #62
Amazing Spider-Man #622
The Marvels Project #6
Secret Warriors #13
Thor #607
Red Hulk #2
Black Lantern Green Arrow #30
X-Factor #202
Spider-Man: Clone Saga #6
The Mice Templar: Destiny #6-7
B.P.R.D.: King of Fear #2
Batman and Robin #9
Justice Society of America #36
The Flash Rebirth #6
Blackest Night: JSA #3
Blackest Night #7

Check out what I thought after the jump!

B.P.R.D.: King of Fear #2

Dark Horse Comics, $2.99

Mike Mignola, John Arcudi, Guy Davis

B.P.R.D. books are always interesting, and this particular book is no exception.  I’ll be interested to see if the ghost of Lobster Johnson is really out of the series from now on or if he has some bigger part to play.  What’s really interesting is that these manage to be big, and world-encompassing, and everything you’d expect from a Hellboy book, but they manage it without using Hellboy.  It’s great to see Liz getting character development, and to see how Abe takes his role as team leader, although I must say, I miss Roger.  Guy Davis manages to bring the world to life in spectacular fashion, bringing a sense of Mignola’s original work to life, using the same sens of economy and utility that was signature in Mignola’s art.  Altogether, very good.

Volstagg’s Beard 4/5




Spider-Man: Clone Saga #6

Marvel Comics, $3.99

Tom DeFalco, Howard Mackie, Todd Nauck

When I picked up my first comic, it was Amazing Spider-Man #375.  It drew me in with a picture of Spider-Man and Venom fighting against a gold foil cover.  I still have the issue, and I hold it responsible for starting a lifelong obsession.  At the time, the book was not new, but reading it lead me to read some new issues, which were currently starring Ben Reilly as Spider-Man, so it’s safe to say that I have a soft spot for the guy.  All that said, I can understand why Spider-Fans might not like the original Clone Saga.  It was a bit convoluted, with fans(or the characters themselves for that matter) never really knowing who was the real Peter Parker and who was the fake.  This series, as a shorter, more true-to-original-planning take on the story works very well.  The book features great art, a better clone story than the original, but my favorite feature would have to be the sense of humor that this book has about itself.

Ollie’s Beard 3/5




Red Hulk #2

Marvel Comics, $3.99

Jeff Parker, Carlos Rodriguez

I went into this series thinking I would hate it, just because of it’s association with the Red Hulk character.  It’s no secret at this point that I’m not really enjoying that guy.  However, about halfway through the issue, I found myself closing it briefly, to look at the cover and see who the writer was.  I was not shocked to find a name other than Jeph Loeb’s there.  Jeff Parker manages to pull off a good story with Red Hulk, proving to me that it’s not the character that makes me dislike the stories.  The story was good enough, and the interactions between Rulk and Thundra are good enough to make me forget how infuriating it is to not know who he is almost two years after his introduction.  This one is worth it, in part for the art, and in part to showcase what a different author can do with a potentially interesting character.

Ollie’s Beard 3/5




Blackest Night #7

DC Comics, $3.99

Geoff Johns, Ivan Reis, Oclair Albert, Joe Prado

After the revelations in the last issue(Blackest Night #6 had the reveal of the New Guardians, as the cover called them), it would be hard to imagine the series getting better.  Somehow, it did.  This issue finally reveals what Nekron’s after, and after a few pages with all of the new lanterns showing why they’re perfect fits for their respective corps, which includes Lex Luthor stealing rings, we get to the coolest part of the series so far, which is a last page reveal.  I’m not going to spoil it for you now, but chances are you already know about it.  I can’t say enough about the strength of Reis’ pencil work, especially when combined with the inking of Albert and Prado, and the fantastic colors of Alex Sinclair, who’s job may be the most important, as the story is mostly about colors.  This is an absolute must-read for any fans of the DC Universe or Green Lantern.

Volstagg’s Beard 4/5




The Flash Rebirth #6

DC Comics, $2.99

Geoff Johns, Ethan Van Sciver, Scott Hanna

I’ve read it on the internet that some people are not really feeling the constant retconning around these rebirth titles, but I, for one have no problem with it.  In my opinion, it adds a little to the Flash legacy, and does not detract from it at all.  As always, Van Sciver is beyond reproach in his artwork, and there are great moments of characterization for Barry, but also for all the other players in the series, like Jesse Quick taking a female version of the Johnny Quick costume, or Wally’s daughter getting to become the new Impulse, just to name a few.  Ideally, I would have been able to read this issue before the final issue of Blackest Night: The Flash, but it’s too late for that now.  Up next, The Flash Brightest Day tie-in title, which I’m looking forward to.

Ollie’s Beard 3/5




Thor #607

Marvel Comics, $2.99

Kieron Gillen, Billy Tan, Batt, Rich Elson, Christina Strain, Paul Mounts

Everyone listed on the cover after Gillen is an artist on some part of this book.  Wow, that’s a heck of an art team, huh?  This issue, siege-related as you can see from the cover, manages to juggle several storylines quite nicely.  Whether it’s a comment on the somewhat viral nature of news or the utility of the internet to act as a too for truth, or the scenes showing how Loki helps with Norman Osborn’s part of the siege, or even the part where Kelda goes to tell Bill’s family of his death, the book does everything wonderfully.  I have to say, though, of all the great snippets of story and all the fantastic artwork that went into the book, the last few pages are my favorite, if only because of the visual connection the Volstagg makes and how it was the first thing that popped into my head, too.  Anyone reading Siege should probably be reading Thor too, if only for now.

Odin’s Beard 5/5

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

