Reviews 3/2

Posted on March 2, 2010. Filed under: Reviews |

Another week, another set of reviews.  As always, I pick up my comics at Comics and Paperbacks Plus in Palmyra, PA.  You can find them on Facebook here or here, or you can stop in if you find yourself in Central Pennsylvania. You can also follow me on Twitter, just to see what I think of my books as I read them! I’m always trying to broaden the scope of what I read, so if you think there’s a book I’d like, or if you have something to add to any of my reviews, leave me a comment.  Here’s what I got:

Dark Avengers #14
Captain America #603
Doomwar #1
Daredevil #503-505
Green Lantern #51
Blackest Night: The Flash #3
Incredible Hulk #607
Hellblazer #264
Atomic Robo: Revenge of the Vampire Dimension #1
Hulk #20
Amazing Spider-Man #621
Guardians of the Galaxy #23

And here’s what I thought:

Captain America #603

Marvel Comics, $3.99

Ed Brubaker, Luke Ross, Butch Guice, Dean White

I missed the boat on reviewing the first issue in this arc, Captain America #602.  As any of you who keeps up with comic news may know, there was some controversy about the one of the panels in the comic, and how it might associate Tea Party protesters with racist elements, or target them as being against America by having them be associated with Captain America villains, the Watchdogs.  I missed it because, on reading, nothing caught my eye as offensive.  When read in context, there was nothing wrong with the panel.  So I’ll catch up here, reviewing the second issue.  The story seems to flow at a natural pace, and is compelling enough to keep my interest.  It may not be Brubaker’s best work, but it’s not terrible, and it remains to be seen how this story will wrap up.  Last thing I have to say is I cannot tell you how happy I am that Bucky is keeping the Captain America title.

Ollie’s Beard 3/5




Doomwar #1

Marvel Comics, $3.99

Jonathan Maberry, Scot Eaton, Andy Lanning, Jean-Francois Beaulieu

Doomwar has such an interesting premise that I can’t believe it’s not been done before.  As you may be able to tell by the title, and certainly would be able to tell with 10 minutes with the book, Doctor Doom is up to no good.  This time, he’s after Wakanda and the rich deposit of Vibranium it’s sitting on.  King T’Challa, and his sister, The Black Panther, aren’t going to let that sit, as you can imagine.  What’s really interesting, though, is that up until now, Wakanda has fallen into that school of writing where you’re lead to believe how cool(or ruthless, or strong, really any adjective) someone or something is by being told about it by other characters incessantly.  This particular issue, however, finally takes it to the next step and shows us that Wakanda is so technologically advanced and territorial that they’ve never been invaded by force, although that’s what’s going to happen in the next few issues, and Maberry isn’t slow to build to that, either.  Also, the events of this series take place either before Hulk #20 or significantly after.  No complaints about the art, although no real praise either.

Volstagg’s Beard 4/5




Daredevil #505

Marvel Comics, $2.99

Andy Diggle, Antony Johnston, Marco Checchetto, Matt Hollingsworth

I just started picking up Daredevil, all on the strength of Andy Diggle’s writing.  I’m a big fan of his work on Hellblazer, so I figured I’d see how he handles Matt Murdock.  Now, admittedly, the last time I had even heard anything of what was going on in Daredevil’s corner of the Marvel Universe was way back in New Avengers #2 or #3, but it was a shock to see the direction he’s going in now.  I mean, Daredevil’s always been a noir-influenced character, and more about gritty crime drama than stopping the latest cosmic villain from activating the newest Infinity bauble, but at first glance it would seem that he’s approaching the problem from the wrong side now.  Andy Diggle worked hard to convince me otherwise through the course of the 3 issues I read this week, and it seems to be a cool little story that’s unfolding, although I’d expect to see Matt Murdock taking more of a heroic role for the upcoming Heroic Age.  The art is good in the issue, but there are parts when it’s a little hard to make out exactly who a character is supposed to be, which tends to ruin a dramatic reveal or two.  All in all, though, not a bad issue.

Ollie’s Beard 3/5




Blackest Night: The Flash #3

DC Comics, $2.99

Geoff Johns, Scott Kolins

One thing that bothers me about the Flash rogues is that the new Captain Boomerang has had precious little done with his character, after the events of Identity Crisis.  This issue continues that proud tradition, although to be fair I’m probably the only guy clamoring for more characterization from Captain Boomerang’s son.  This issue provides kind of an interesting counterpoint to the Rogues Revenge tie-in from Final Crisis(which was the best part of Final Crisis, by the way.)  It also ties into the end of Flash Rebirth in an interesting way, perhaps most interesting in that it reveals the end of that story about a week before it came out.  I mean, honestly, we all knew how it was going to end, but I would have preferred to read the end of that series before getting to this one.  The art is good in this book, and changes enough during the various sequences to hold interest.  All told, you can’t go wrong with this book.

Volstagg’s Beard 4/5




Atomic Robo: Revenge of the Vampire Dimension

Red 5 Comics, $3.50

Brian Clevinger, Scott Wegener, Ronda Pattison, Jeff Powell

Seriously, do you need to know more about this book than the title to go out and buy it right now?  You do?  Okay.  I first heard about Atomic Robo from a friend who met the guys who make the book at Wizard World.  Robo is a robot who was built by Nikola Tesla, and who now runs Tesladyne, where he manages the Fightin’ Scientists, fine purveyors of Action Science.  In this particular series, there seems to be some problems arising from the Vampire Dimension.  The book’s art style is fantastic, and this is the only comic to regularly make me literally laugh out loud.  I can’t wait for the next issue, let alone the next series from this universe.  Keep them coming, Clevinger and Wegener!

Odin’s Beard 5/5




Hulk #20

Marvel Comics, $3.99

Jeph Loeb, Ed McGuinness

Red Hulk fighting the X-Men, T’Challa, and the Red Ghost and his Super Apes in Wakanda?  Sign me up!  Oh wait, it’s pretty meaningless, doesn’t tie in to the superior Doomwar story, and barely advances the Fall of the Hulks storyline at all?  Can I have my money back?  I’ll take a partial refund, that’s fine.  I can’t have it?  Well that’s unfortunate.  Seriously, Jeph Loeb, can we just get you to tell us who Red Hulk is?  At this point you’ve eliminated all the red herrings you left in the first story arc, as General Ross is dead(although you resurrected Talbot and Betty, so this one may not be final), Samson is working with the Intelligencia, Rick Jones is definitely the Blue Abomination, so at this point it could be anyone.  It could be Devil Dinosaur and I wouldn’t be surprised.  As always, McGuinness’s art and the little Hulks story in the back are the only reason to get this book.

Superman’s Beard 1/5




Guardians of the Galaxy #23

Marvel Comics, $2.99

Dan Abnett, Andy Lanning, Wes Craig, Serge Lapointe, Nathan Fairbairn

A pretty sure way to get me to buy something is to put Thanos in it, and with Marvel’s recent news of the return of Thanos to the pages of Guardians of the Galaxy, I decided to pick up this title for at least a little while.  One of my other favorite characters, The Magus, appears as well, right there on the cover.  Let me tell you, the characters in this book are spectacular.  Rocket Raccoon, Moondragon, Drax, and Groot steal every page they’re on for me, and being a big fan of one of the recent runs on Captain Marvel(featuring Genis Vell), the inclusion of his sister, Phyla is also a big draw.  If you’re a fan of any of those characters, or if you like galactic action, this book comes highly recommended.  The art is pretty standard, no complaints, but I will say that it’s surprisingly clear, and the action and drama sequences in the book do not suffer from it.

Volstagg’s Beard 4/5



And that’s it for this week! Thanks for reading, we’ll see you next time!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

