Review Round-up 2/23/10

Posted on February 23, 2010. Filed under: Reviews |

I guess that catching up thing fell through, huh?  Oh well, sometimes life gets in the way of these things.  Anyway, I’m gonna try again this week to catch up, so there’s not that much lag time between reviews!  As always, I pick up my comics at Comics and Paperbacks Plus in Palmyra, PA.  You can find them on Facebook here or here, or you can stop in if you find yourself in Central Pennsylvania. You can also follow me on Twitter, just to see what I think of my books as I read them! Here’s what I got:

Human Target #1
Guardians of the Galaxy #20
Green Arrow Vs. Black Canary #29
The Unwritten #10
Ultimate Armor Wars #4
Batman and Robin #8
Amazing Spider-Man #620
Spider-Man Noir: Eyes Without a Face #3
Strange #2-4
Tails of the Pet Avengers #1

Seems a little light this week, but that’s okay, I suppose.  Check out what I thought after the jump!

Human Target #1

DC Comics, $2.99

Len Wein, Bruno Redondo, Sergio Sandoval

Backup by Peter Johnson, Chris Sprouse, Karl Story

My first introduction to Human Target was a feature on the Comics Should Be Good blog hosted at Comic Book Resources, called a year of cool comic moments.  The concept was very intriguing to me, so much so that when I heard it was going to be a TV show, I decided to give it a chance(no pun intended), even if it wasn’t going to be exactly like the comic.  The first story in this book, by Len Wein, reads exactly like an episode of the show, down to the characters looking like Mark Valley, Chi McBride, and Jackie Earle Haley.  Some people may not like it, but I find it very entertaining, and I cannot wait for more of this series.  The art is also good, if a little dependent on shadows.  I can’t recommend this book enough, if you’re a fan of the show.  If not, well…you may want to steer clear, as you’re probably not going to like it.

Volstagg’s Beard 4/5



Spider-Man Noir: Eyes Without a Face #3

Marvel Comics, $3.99

David Hine, Fabrice Sapolsky, Carmine Di Giandomenico

Wow, what to say about this one?  The first few pages read like the scene in Raiders of the Lost Ark where the huge guy waves the sword around for a little and Indy just shoots him.  Seriously.  Pick up the book for a minute and read it, you’ll see what I mean.  I think the writer has confused “noir” with “tasteless situations,” such as domestic violence, nearly helpless people being beaten half to death, and a few other situations in the book that kind of make this more like reading a snuff film than reading something like The Maltese Falcon.  There are ways to make something entertaining and based on crime and other elements of noir without taking it this far.  I may have mentioned before that I don’t care for the art much, and that still hasn’t changed.

Booster’s Beard 0/5




Amazing Spider-Man #620

Marvel Comics, $2.99

Dan Slott, Marcos Martin, Javier Pulido, Javier Rodriguez

Dan Slott’s been doing a phenomenal job handling one of my favorite Spider-Foes, Mysterio.  At first I was  a little iffy about the return of Mysterio, just because I was a big fan of Kevin Smith’s arc where he killed Quentin Beck, but Slott even addresses that very nicely in his book.  He also turns something that could be solely about screwing with Spider-Man into some cool moments that do just that, but even more so show the kind of danger Mysterio could be as a villain.  There are good moments of characterization throughout, and a very disturbing Anti-May.  The art is the only thing I really don’t enjoy about this book, and that’s not even to say it’s bad, it’s just a little too cartoony for my tastes.  Otherwise, GREAT book!

Volstagg’s Beard 4/5




Batman and Robin #8

DC Comics, $2.99

Grant Morrison, Cameron Stewart

This issue gives a little background on the behind-the-scenes goings on of the last issue, which is always nice, especially when coupled with problems like “where did Batwoman come from?” and “If it was Batman we saw at the end of Final crisis, whose corpse was that that Superman was carrying?”  That said, Grant Morrison stories, at best, are a little hard to follow as a rule, and this one is no exception.  Still, even taking that, this story is pretty good.  The art is fantastic, and I’m a sucker for any story that remembers the history of the last story arc, and for anything including Knight and Squire.  The next issue really should give us some more, though.

Ollie’s Beard 3/5




Tails of the Pet Avengers #1

Marvel Comics, $3.99

Chris Eliopoulos, Ig Guara, Gurihiru, Colleen Coover, Scott Gray, Buddy Scalera, Joe Caramagna

A very good anthology book, with all-ages fun for all of the characters.  I think my favorite tales are the Frog Thor story, the Lockjaw story, and the Redwing story.  Each story is written by a different writer and drawn by a different artist, for the most part, with some people like Coover and Eliopoulos pulling double duty in some cases.  The next issue should be fun, and I’m very interested to see where some of these stories go, or if they have completely new stories to tell.  I can definitely see the charm that drove the first collection to success evident in this book, and hope they continue putting out Pet Avengers books.

Ollie’s Beard 3/5




The Unwritten #10

DC/Vertigo, $2.99

Mike Carey, Peter Gross, Jimmy Broxton

It’s weird that even after decades of use in popular movies and video games and the like, the appearance of Goebbels can still be shocking.  That’s not to say that this feels like a bad choice by Carey, in fact it’s the opposite.  Goebbels in the role that he plays is very fitting, and he even acts like you would expect Goebbels to act in this situation.  At this point, after reading Mike Carey’s novels, being a fan of his work on books like Hellblazer, and Lucifer, he’s earned a certain amount of good will in my book, and he doesn’t exploit that in the Unwritten series.  Even 10 issues in, when in lesser books like Hulk I’m clamoring for answers, Carey keeps me guessing in the best possible way, by keeping me entertained and giving me scraps to piece together as the story goes on.  Gross’s art is so good, page layouts are fitting and lettering choices fit the story very well.  I’m going to be sad when Unwritten is finished.

Odin’s Beard 5/5




Well, that’ll do it for now.  Thanks for reading, and keep your eyes out for notifications of new posts!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 11 other followers

  • Donate!

  • Follow me on Twitter!

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

